Our Mission: Improve Your Safety by Self-Defense Education
We give you real safety solutions for potential danger in your real life in the San Diego area.
All courses include content about self-defense law.
Private Firearm Lessons
NOVICE to ADVANCED: Skillful firearm shooting is not a secret gift for elite gun owners. As a beginner, experienced concealed carrier, rifle shooter, or someone between, please consider one hour of individual training. Our success in this type of remedial training is exceptional. It’s very likely that just one quiet hour of private training will help you progress very far in your handling and/or shooting skills. Duration = 1 hr (or more). Minimum Age = 13 (with parent or guardian). Tuition = $90 per hr. Must bring your gun & ammo. Prerequisite = None. Schedule = By Appointment; Please contact us.
BSIS Firearm Training Course (Open Carry)¹
NOVICE to INTERMEDIATE: Required Bureau of Security & Investigative Services course for firearms and use of force; handgun operation, gun safety & handling, and shooting fundamentals. Duration = 14 hrs (Initial only). Minimum Age = 21. Tuition = $200 (Initial); $90 (Refresher); $125 (Adding Caliber). Includes CA State forms. Excludes CA State fees & Live Scan. Must bring handgun & ammo for the range portion (final 6 hrs of Initial). Prerequisite = Current license as either CA Security Guard, Alarm Agent, Private Investigator, Private Patrol Officer, or Alarm Co. Operator. Schedule = By Appointment; Please contact us.
California CCW License Training Courses (Concealed Carry)¹
NOVICE to INTERMEDIATE: Required California CCW License training for San Diego County residents. Duration = 8 hrs (Initial), or 4 hrs (Renewal). Minimum Age = 21. Tuition = $190 Initial; $90 Renewal. Includes ICD Workbook & SDSD course certificate. Our 8-hr. Initial Course also includes a copy of USCCA’s textbook, Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals. Excludes all County & State fees. Must bring all handguns to be listed on your CCW License and 100 rounds per caliber. Prerequisite = Completed CCW background check by San Diego Sheriff’s Department.Initial Course, $190. Renewal Course, $90. Schedule = By Appointment; Please contact us.
NOTICE: There is no required qualification shoot nor written exam at the SD Sheriff’s Dept. for initial or renewing applicants. Just complete your training with us, and your next stop is issuance of the license at SDSD!
California Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC)
NOVICE CONSUMER: California law requires most CA residents who acquire a gun to have an FSC. Duration = 1 hr. Minimum Age = 18. Tuition = $25 (Initial); $15 (Renewal). Includes FSC. Prerequisite = None. Schedule = Same day as NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting, or By Appointment; Please contact us.
NOVICE INSTRUCTOR: Required training for FSC Instructors who issue FSCs to consumers. Duration = ~3 hrs. Minimum Age = 21. Tuition = $100. Includes ICD Workbook & course certificate. Excludes CA COE, State fees & Live Scan. Prerequisite = None. Schedule = By Appointment anywhere in So. California; Please contact us.
NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting Course¹
NOVICE to INTERMEDIATE: This is our hands-on PART II of the NRA’s new blended online learning program. Handgun shooting fundamentals, gun components & operation. Duration = ~3 hrs. Minimum Age = 13 (with parent). Tuition = $100. Includes use of pistol & ammo, and ICD Supplements. Prerequisite = Completion of online PART I for the course. Please see NRA’s Website. It is not necessary to own a pistol to take this course. You will receive valuable info to help you select the right gun to acquire. Please contact us.
NRA Basic Rifle Shooting Course
NOVICE to INTERMEDIATE: Rifle shooting fundamentals, gun components & operation, ammunition, gun safety, and maintenance. Duration = 14 hrs. Minimum Age = 13 (with parent or guardian). Tuition = $200. Includes use of rifle & ammo, NRA book Basics of Rifle Shooting, course certificate, NRA Marksmanship rocker, ICD Supplements. Prerequisite = None. It is not necessary to own a rifle to take this course. You will receive valuable info to help you select the right gun to acquire. Please contact us.
NRA Personal Protection In the Home Course¹
INTERMEDIATE: Learn to dominate a violent encounter and build an armed personal protection act plan for inside your California home or business; defensive gun handling; defensive move/shoot skills; mental conditioning; firearms, storage devices, ammo, and gear for personal protection. And, we raise the bar with a moving target! Duration = 8 hrs. Minimum Age = 21. Tuition = $190. Includes NRA book Guide To Personal Protection In the Home, course certificate, ICD supplements. Must bring your handgun & 100 rounds. Prerequisite = NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting, or equivalent. Please contact us.
NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home Course¹
INTERMEDIATE: Build on your skills from PPITH and learn concealed carry and more defensive move/shoot skills needed to respond to a range of threats away from your home or business. Learn concealment methods, holster selection, drawing from concealment, use of cover, engaging multiple threats, and legal aspects of concealed carry. And, we raise the bar farther with multiple moving targets! Duration = 16 hrs (2 days). Minimum Age = 21. Tuition = $270. Includes NRA Guide To Personal Protection Outside the Home, course certificate, ICD supplements. Must bring your handgun, 2 magazines or 1 speed loader, & 300 rounds. Prerequisite = ICD PPITH Course or ICD CA CCW Training Course². Please contact us.
NRA Defensive Pistol Course¹
ADVANCED: Turbo-charge your skills from PPOTH and jump to the next level. It is NRA’s advanced concealed carry course. Duration = 8 hrs. Minimum Age = 21. Tuition = $175. Includes NRA Defensive Handgun patch & rockers (with qualification), ICD supplements, timed shooting qualification to graduate. You can do it! Must bring your handgun, concealment system (holster, purse, etc.), 3 magazines or 2 speed loaders, & 300 rounds. Prerequisite = ICD PPOTH Course or ICD CA CCW Training Course². Please contact us.
NRA Refuse To Be A Victim® Seminar
NON-FIREARM NOVICE: Learn simple strategies to help you be safer in your everyday life. Every session is packed with safety tips to use at home, at work, at school, while commuting and vacationing. Your self-reliant skills will get a surge from this diverse presentation of practical safety solutions. Duration = 4 hrs (session length can be modified). Minimum Age = 13 (with parent or guardian). Tuition =$15. Prerequisite = None. Includes NRA RTBAV Student Handbook, course certificate, ICD supplements. Schedule = Saturday, February 3, 2018, 8:30 AM to 12:30 PM. Registration for this seminar will open soon. If you desire to attend, please send us an email and we will contact you with details.
P.A.W.S. – Preempt Attacks Without Shooting
NON-FIREARM NOVICE: Discover extremely effective bare hand self-defense techniques fast! This system is NOT conventional martial arts, nor is it sanctioned as sports training. It is designed for students of ANY age (13+), ANY stature, ANY fitness level. Duration = 3 hrs. Minimum Age = 13 (with parent or guardian). Tuition = $60. Prerequisite = None. Please contact us.
¹ Completion of these courses satisfies your training requirement for Arizona and Florida CCW licenses.
² To maintain an optimum defensive shooting style among all of our students, we require ICD prerequisite courses.
Courses are certified/approved by CA Bureau of Security & Investigative Services (BSIS), CA Department of Justice (FSC), National Rifle Association (NRA), San Diego County Sheriff's Department (CCW), US Concealed Carry Association (USCCA).